

# Lent Bumps 2025 - Getting on Race

Friday 7th March

### **Notes for Competitors**

#### Crews Marshalling at Baitsbite

Crews for Division 1 should spin at the Lock then pull in below the A14 Road Bridge, bows upstream, in race order (i.e. Crew 1 furthest upstream and just downstream of the A14 bridge). Crews may have to double stack, with odd numbers closest to the towpath, even numbers closest to the meadow side. There will be marshals to assist. A marshal will instruct you to push off and row to the start. Crews should overlap bows and sterns to ensure there's enough room for all crews on the bank.

#### Crews Marshalling at the Railway Bridge

All other crews should arrive at least 45 minutes before their division and marshal in reverse racing order upstream of the railway bridge. When the last racing crew passes the finish, crews will be pushed off to paddle up to the start, spin on station and tuck into the bank.

Any crew that is late to marshalling will not be permitted to race.

#### **Bank and Towpath**

It being Lents, the towpath may get muddy, especially if it is wet - please take care on the towpath, and bring waterproofs if needed.

Bank parties are strictly limited to **four** cyclists for the Getting On Race.

#### The Start

The start is a rolling start. Times will be taken from the upstream side of the A14 Road Bridge, bows on. The race start will be under the control of a Senior Umpire, approximately 100m below the timing line at the A14 Road Bridge. They will start you with a "Go!". A horn/whistle will sound when the clock for your crew has started.

### The Finish

The finish is the upstream side of the Railway Bridge. Times will be taken bows on, a horn/whistle will sound when the clock for your crew has stopped.

Upon crossing the finish line, crews should wind it down but continue to row until the P&E to keep the finish line clear. Crews stopping should pull into the bay at the P&E to allow those crews wishing to proceed straight home to do so unimpeded. Crews should observe the normal navigation rules after racing as other crews may be heading downstream for outings after the race.



## **Overtaking**

Crews being overtaken must concede the racing line. Overtaking crews must make their intentions known in good time for the other crew to respond. Once an overtaking manoeuvre has commenced, crews should keep to their respective waters.

#### **Crew Scratches**

Crews scratching before 5PM on Wednesday 5th March will receive a full refund.

Crews scratching before 5PM on Thursday 6th March will receive a half refund. Crews which scratch after this time, or do not show up to race, will receive no refund. Crews which race but fail to get on will receive a half refund.

Requests to race for time-only must be sent to committee@cucbc.org before 5PM on Wednesday 5th March.

#### Crew Substitutions

All crew substitutions should be declared via the subs form communicated to captains. Last minute subs may be requested directly to committee@cucbc.org. Please remember that anyone who races in a successful GoR crew may not go on to compete for a higher crew in the Lent Bumps.

# **Qualifying Crews**

Of the crews that qualify, those which raced Bumps last year will be put back on in such a way as to preserve the ordering of last year's finish order. Qualifying crews that raced in Lents 2023 will then be put on in the order in which they finished in that set of bumps. The remaining qualifying crews will be put at the bottom of the lowest division in a random order.

The timed results of qualifying crews will not be released.



# Divisions:

	Division 1 2:30pm	Division 2 3:30pm	Division 3 4:30pm
1.	Churchill M2	Wolfson W2	St Catharine's M2
2.	Clare Hall M2	Sidney Sussex W2	Christ's M3
3.	Corpus Christi M2	Selwyn W2	King's M3
4.	Darwin M2	Peterhouse W2	Pembroke M3
5.	Girton M2	Murray Edwards W2	Peterhouse M3
6.	Hughes Hall M2	Magdalene W2	Queens' M3
7.	King's M2	Lucy Cavendish W2	Sidney Sussex M3
8.	Lucy Cavendish M2	King's W2	Trinity Hall M3
9.	Robinson M2	Hughes Hall W2	First and Third M4
10.	Sidney Sussex M2	Homerton W2	Jesus M4
11.	St Edmund's M2	Fitzwilliam W2	Lady Margaret W3
12.	Wolfson M2	First and Third W2	Jesus W3
13.	Caius M3	Corpus W2	First and Third W3
14.	Churchill M3	Churchill W2	Clare W3
15.	Clare M3	St Catharine's W3	Churchill W3
16.	Emmanuel M3	Queens' W3	Caius W3
17.	First and Third M3	Pembroke W3	Newnham W4
18.	Jesus M3	Newnham W3	Churchill W4
19.			Murray Edwards W3 (TO)

